JOB HUNTING

Lately, I seem to be surrounded by individuals trying to find jobs.  Young and old.  I realized even though there is a difference in age, there is a common theme among both age groups. Negativity and despair which lead to poor body language and lack luster speech.  All qualities that are sure to NOT land a job.

Head Trash

head trash

When trying to find a job there is no room for negativity and despair wandering around in your head.  Lets just call it what it is, head trash. Head trash that if not taken control of will take over and become reality.  For example my young friend told me the other day … “I am too young, they will never want to hire me.”  Well my first thought listening to this head trash was, oh honey you are so right.  I personally would never want to hire someone who does not believe in themselves.

Negativity & Despair negativity

It is so easy to let the negativity and despair capture our minds.  We have bills to pay. People counting on us.  Dreams to achieve.  I could go on and on.  But when looking for a job you need to turn your mind into a steel trap.  Do not let negativity and despair in.  If they creep in, set up a separate room for them in your head, shove them in and shut the door.  Being aware is the first step to stopping negativity and despair.

Poor Body Language & Speechbody language

If you are letting negativity & despair rule your job search most likely it has snatched your body and speech.  You may not realize it but this head trash will slow you down. The way you walk, your actions and your speech become negative.  You may feel that you are hiding these thoughts but let me tell you right now … you can not hide negativity and despair.  It is seen by all. Everyone who counts in your job search sees it.  Friends, family, acquaintances, the recruiter who calls up up on the phone to ask you a few questions, the human resource manager interviewing you.  Shall I go on?  Do you get my point?  Everyone you come in contact with can hear your negativity & despair and see your negativity & despair.  Who wants to hire that?  Who wants to work with that?  Who wants to recommend that?  Not me.  People are put off by another persons negativity & despair and will avoid it at all costs.  They may tolerate it for a short time but if you can not eventually control it that friend will take that shoulder they lent you and walk away.

Remember everyone you come in contact with can potentially help you find a job…even family members.  No one wants to help someone who is consumed by head trash.

What do I know?new job

What do I know about this?  How can I give advise?  Well I know despair & negativity very well.  I was raised by it and can recognize it in a heart beat.  Also I have worked in the staffing field. I have heard all the excuses you can think of for why a job can’t be found.  I myself have had to find jobs when all seemed to be lost.  Every job I have landed has been from my positive attitude, often times beating out a more qualified individual because of my positive attitude.

Now I am not perfect.  Yes, negativity and despair gets me every now and then. Sometimes it gets me for a few weeks before I notice.  But I am aware.  I can catch myself and shove that negativity and despair out of my thoughts.  Here are some tips that I use.

  • It may sound silly but the written word works wonders.  Write I can statements.
    • I can find a job.
    • I am young and fresh and will add life to the company  that hires me.
    • I am older but experienced, and can increase profits for a company.
  • Mend those negative bridges you created
    • If you have been negative make a point tell everyone you have a new attitude.
    • Keep in mind if you do not have this new attitude they will see that.
    • Keep in mind if you do have a new attitude they will see it and keep watching and then most likely be more open to helping you, recommending you and etc.
  • Make finding a job a full time job.
    • Full time + over time, Monday – Sunday
    • Research job finding tips
    • Find a friend who can serve as a job coach.  This job coach will become your boss.  Report to them weekly.  Give them reports on who you sent resumes to.  Discuss interviews you went on.  Have them do a mock interview with you, focusing on questions you found difficult to answer in real interviews.
  • Treat yourself.
    • Set high goals and if you meet them treat yourself.  For example I would force myself to send out so many resumes in a week and if I achieved that goal I earned a bag of salt and vinegar potato chips from the grocery store!

Conclusion

Remember negativity and despair which lead to poor body language and lack luster speech are  All qualities that are sure to NOT land you a job.  Use my tips and most importantly be aware and you will find that job.

Written by Lyn, lynowner of Designer Name Brand Goods eBay store.  Career and casual clothing at rock bottom prices that can help you land that job!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

